Horsley Woodhouse Primary School

School Council

What is the School Council?

A new school council is elected each year, with children in Y1 to Y6 nominating representatives. This creates a central group that speaks on behalf of the whole school and makes decisions about school life. We value the opinions of our pupils and the School Council gives pupils a forum to share these opinions with the Headteacher and other members of staff.

Our school council's aims this year will be to focus on our school behaviours and learning attitudes, including being safe, being respectful and being ready! We will also be busy sharing ideas and organising fundraising events throughout the year for things such as Children in Need and Sports Relief.

Who are the School Council representatives for 2022/23?

Head boy - Stanley
Head girl - Evie
Our head boy and head girl have a wider responsibility to represent the school and generally to set an example within our school community.
Tommy - Year 1 representative
Poppy - Year 2 representative 
Mason - Year 3 representative
Gracie - Year 4 representative
Eoin - Year 5 representative
Edward - Year 6 representative
Kenzie - School Council Secretary


Main Street, Ilkeston, Derbyshire DE7 6AT

Headteacher - Mrs Parmjit Atwal
School Business Officer - Ms Rachel Langford
Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator (SENCO) - Mrs L Goodwin
Chair of Governors - Mr Steve Bramley (email: s.bramley@horsleywoodhouse.derbyshire.sch.uk)

For any enquiries, please contact Ms. Langford or Mrs. Stevens on the following number or email: